News:

Check out our Site Partners!

80s Mania WrestlingDaShawns2cents on FacebookThe Efed PodcastESPN Sports SimsEWCThe Indy CornerMFX PodcastOld School WrestlingSLTD WrestlingWhat A Maneuver!Wrestleview.comWrestling Mayhem Show

Main Menu

Just began training Muay Thai and BJJ

Started by MitchMMA, July 22, 2008, 12:01:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MitchMMA

Well I have been doing martial arts since I was four years old (Shaolin Kempo Karate), I received my first degree blackbelt and then about 2 years later I moved to GA. For the three years that I have lived here I have not joined a new martial arts gym until just recently all I have been doing was training myself haha. I signed up to a new MMA gym that offers boxing, kickboing, muay thai, and BJJ classes so i'm looking to train in all of those. Yesterday was my first ever Muay Thai class and I loved it, though it was a lot harder than I had expected but that's a good thing because the harder it is the better I will become! Today I will be taking both a Muay Thai class and a BJJ class back to back, hopefully it won't kill me but I should be fine haha. I'm scared shitless cause I hate being the "newbie" but you gotta start somewhere lol.

Cory

Just be prepared to do a lot of fucking running.

I'm only 15, but for two months I was training in Muay Thai and Boxing. My Muay Thai teacher persisted on doing nothing but the fundamentals of striking, clinching, and a whole fuck load of running. It was brutal, but I finished 5th of my weight class (185) in the monthly tournament of 35 people, going like, 3-0, but I had to back out in the quaters because a guy cracked the metatarsal in my right foot.

You lucky to have a gym like that around where you live. Over here, we got boxing, and 'fundamentals' of Muay Thai and Ju Jitsu. Lame.

Im thinking about going back when I cut weight, to at least 170, but good luck with the classes.

SUBSCRIBE TO MY GAMING CHANNEL ON YOUTUBE

MitchMMA

Yay running lol.