News:

Check out our Site Partners!

80s Mania WrestlingDaShawns2cents on FacebookThe Efed PodcastESPN Sports SimsEWCThe Indy CornerMFX PodcastOld School WrestlingSLTD WrestlingWhat A Maneuver!Wrestleview.comWrestling Mayhem Show

Main Menu

Anti-Virus 2009

Started by JohnS., July 22, 2008, 01:50:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JohnS.

Please guys do not download this. It is a really nasty virus that is going around and TONS of people are getting it. I am a PC tech at a local shop and this freakin virus is everywhere.

Antivirus 2009/8/7, is a new rogue anti-spyware program from the same family as Antivirus 2008 and Doctor Antivirus . Antivirus 2009 is installed and advertised through the use of misleading web sites that attempt to make you think your computer is infected with a variety of malware. Once installed, Antivirus 2009 will scan your computer and list a variety of fake infections that can't be removed unless you first purchase the software. These infections are fake, though, and only being shown to scare you into purchasing the software.

When Antivirus 2009 is installed, a Internet Explorer browser helper object is also installed that displays fake messages when using Internet Explorer. These messages range from a line at the top of the browser stating an infection was found to adding a box to the Google homepage stating Google detected that your computer was infected. These tactics are just two more methods where Antivirus 2009 uses false information to scare you into purchasing their software.

Associated Antivirus 2009 Files:

Note: Some of these entries are random named.

%UserProfile%\Desktop\Antivirus 2009.lnk
    %UserProfile%\Application Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\Antivirus 2009.lnk
    %UserProfile%\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\S96PZM7V\winsrc[1].dll
    %UserProfile%\Start Menu\Antivirus 2009
    %UserProfile%\Start Menu\Antivirus 2009\Antivirus 2009.lnk