Web Development Question or Questions rather

Started by T Jay, August 02, 2008, 04:38:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

T Jay

So here's the dizzle, I've been teaching myself web design, development or whatever you want to call it for a few years now. I'm not genius when it comes to the subject, but I'm no beginner either. I'm constantly wanting to expand my knowledge in this category as well. But there is something that I really want to know about, but just can't seem to figure out myself. So maybe someone here knows, I apologize in advance if this is hard to follow. I'll try my best to make it clear.

I was in a federation many moons ago called EFWO. One of the features EFWO had was a section where members could log in and edit their own wrestlers roster page. Think of it like E-Fedding Myspace type of stuff. Instead of about me and interest sections it was weight, height, bio... and everything else found in an application that you need to put in to sign up.

Now it wasn't part of the forums in anyway and it wasn't the whole site. There was a page to log in, pages for the information that you could edit then the submit button and boom it showed up on the roster page set up for your character. I've toyed with the idea of doing this for AWR as the members want detailed roster pages, I doubt it will happen, but who knows. Now either way it's something I'd like to learn about.

I've read about CMS, content management systems but they seem to be more for articles or blogs. The best I can think of to do something like this is in PHP and MySQL. Problem lies within' that I don't know jack about PHP or MySQL except what they are, and although I want to learn about them I don't even know where to begin.

Any info for good ol' Teej?

Zombie Gunn