News:

Check out our Site Partners!

80s Mania WrestlingDaShawns2cents on FacebookThe Efed PodcastESPN Sports SimsEWCThe Indy CornerMFX PodcastOld School WrestlingSLTD WrestlingWhat A Maneuver!Wrestleview.comWrestling Mayhem Show

Main Menu

What Martial Art best fits what I'm looking for?

Started by chunkylover, July 27, 2009, 07:31:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

chunkylover

I'm looking to start studying another martial art. I studied Shotokan Karate to 1st Kyu, but found it pretty useless overall.
I'm looking for a high contact, or at least vigorous style and something with a mix of strikes and throws/grapples.
The best thing I've seen so far is Hapkido, but I can't find anywhere local to study it.

My local choices are:

Muay Thai
Taekwondo
Krav Maga
Kickboxing
Boxing
Wrestling
Wing Chun Kung Fu

So which would be the best exercise and which has a good range of attacks?

Appreciate any help given.

Cory

I'd recommend either a mix of Muay Thai/Wrestling or Kickboxing/Wrestling.

Are these all local gyms? I just started last month, and its a monthy fee of $80 and you can go to all session, so I'm getting BJJ, Wrestling, Kickboxing, and Muay Thai (hate it) all at once.....but if you had limited resources, I'd say Kickboxing and Wrestling......but if you want the most forms of contact that'd be Muay Thai, and of course Wrestling has your throws.

SUBSCRIBE TO MY GAMING CHANNEL ON YOUTUBE

Big Gay Honker

Don't bother with karate.  Nothing good will you learn in Karate.

I would see if they have contracts.  If not, that's good.  I would say start with Boxing.  That's the best thing you can start with, because you'll learn head movement better than thai boxing.  You'll be able to slip punches better.  It's also the best introduction to contact.  Strapping on those 16 oz gloves will make you more tired than you would realize, but also the movements you make moving around will also test you.